The Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award 2018 for the Best Script from Eastern Europe developed within a screenwriting programme organized by the Independent Film Foundation has been presented at the 71st Cannes Film Festival for the twelfth time.


Through the decision of the Advisory Board members: Sandy Lieberson, Simon Perry, Manfred Schmidt and ScripTeast’s Heads of Studies: Tom Abrams and Christian Routh, the Award has been made to the script AFRIKA by Maya Vitkova-Kosev from Bulgaria.


The Advisory Board explained their decision with the following statement:

„This year’s winner displays all the qualities that one is looking for in a new script from the region. It is endlessly surprising, completely unpredictable, and utterly enchanting. The writer has managed to weave together themes of loss, love, and family in an ensemble piece that promises to make us cry at the frailties of human nature and laugh out loud at the absurdities of life. This is all achieved in a lyrical but accessible manner that promises a wonderful cinematic experience.“


Choosing one project from 11 extremely deserving ones was – as always – a very difficult choice. The authors are to be congratulated for their commitment and creativity in the writing and rewriting of their scripts – all of which we feel are excellent candidates for production. The Advisory Board was impressed by each and every project but felt that two stood out as exceptionally challenging and imaginative. While only one project can be selected for the Kieslowski Award, the Advisory Board decided to give the 2018 SCRIPTEAST SPECIAL MENTION to THE WINTER OF THE CROW by Sandra Buchta and Kasia Adamik.


“This script presents a thrilling and hugely entertaining account of a special moment in recent European history, and confronts themes about the complex relationships between people from different cultures and backgrounds. The writers take us on a journey that is partly comical, partly surreal, and definitely terrifying, as the characters navigate their way through a sudden revolution that has had huge consequences.”


Seven of the previous Kieslowski award winners have already been produced, including THE HOUSE  (Zuzana Liova – Slovakia ), WOMB (Benedek Fliegauf – Hungary), THE JAPANESE DOG (Ioan Antoci – Romania),  THE PROSECUTOR, THE DEFENDER, THE FATHER AND HIS SON a.k.a. False Witness  (Iglika Triffonova – Bulgaria), AGA a.k.a. Nanook by Simeon Ventsislavov and Milko Lazarov (Bulgaria) and WHEN THE TREES FALL by Marysia Nikitiuk (Ukraine).  The eighth one, “Mute” by Bartek Konopka and Przemek Nowakowski is now in production.


11 of the best scripts from scriptwriters from 7 Eastern European countries have been developed within ScripTeast’s XII edition. They are:


AFRIKA Maya Vitkova-Kosev (Bulgaria)

FOREST’S EDGE Olga Lavrenchuk (Ukraine)

GREGORIUS, THE CHOSEN ONE Tomasz Mielnik (Czech Republic)

IN PERSON Arkadiusz Biedrzycki & Bartłomiej Konarski (Poland)


PRICELESS Piotr Domalewski (Poland)

RED DOT Michal Samir (Czech Republic)

THE EMPTY HOUSE Rati Tsiteladze & Nino Varsimashvili (Georgia)

THE LAST TRAIN FROM PRAGUE Matej Mináč & David Mináč (Czech Republic)

THE SLEEPING BEAST Aidi Vallik (Estonia)

THE WINTER OF THE CROW Sandra Buchta & Kasia Adamik (Poland)


ScripTeast is one of the most recognised and effective training programmes for screenwriters. 33 films have been produced based on the participating scripts, with a further 11 currently in production. ScripTeast’s annual programme cycle includes 3 stationary sessions (in Poland, and during the Berlin and Cannes festivals) plus online consultations.


ScripTeast was created by Polish director and producer Dariusz Jablonski, in collaboration with his closest associates, producers: Violetta Kaminska and Izabela Wojcik. Together, besides wide international production activities through their companies Apple Film and Message Film, they created the Independent Film Foundation, which promotes ambitious films and its authors in Poland and Central and Eastern Europe.


ScripTeast  XII is organized by Independent Film Foundation, co-funded by Creative Europe – MEDIA Sub-Programme of the EU, Polish Film Institute, Apple Film Production, in co-operation with the European Film Academy, Producers Network, European Producers Club, Transatlantic Partners, ACE – Atelier du Cinema Europeen and Film New Europe.