Krzysztof Kieślowski ScripTeast Award Winner to be announced

The Cannes Film Festival is the setting for the final stage of the 13th edition of the ScripTeast programme organized by the Independent Film Foundation. On May 21st we shall find out which of the 11 screenplays from 9 Central and Eastern European countries will receive the Krzysztof Kieślowski ScripTeast Award and a cheque for 10,000 Euros.

Projects featured in the 13th edition of ScripTeast:

  • Chemistry – Adina Dulcu, Romania
  • Forever Hold Your Peace – Ivan Marinović, Montenegro
  • M – Vardan Tozija and Darijan Pejovski, North Macedonia
  • Mother –  Zornitsa Sophia i Miglena Dimova-Kumitski, Bulgaria
  • Nightsiren – Tereza Nvotová i Barbora Námerová, Slovakia / Czech Republic
  • Recordings  – Diana Groó, Hungary
  • Spinners – Ivars Tontegode and Reinis Ubelis, Latvia
  • Stillborn – Olga Chajdas and Lena Góra, Poland
  • The Night of The Living Toys – Michał Walczak and Maria Wojtyszko, Poland
  • The Pale – Rusudan Pirveli, Georgia
  • The Sibyl – Zuzanna Solakiewicz, Poland

The scheme covers eight months during which the screenwriters draw on the experience of international filmmakers to help maximise the potential of their projects, as well as attending Europe’s two leading festivals.

„The festivals in Berlin and Cannes are great places to allow them not only to participate in the sessions organized within the programme, but also to establish international contacts and promote their own projects” – comments Violetta Kamińska, Managing Director of ScripTeast.

The winning script will be chosen by members of the Artistic Council of ScripTeast: Doreen Boonekamp (head of the Dutch Film Fund), Sandy Lieberson (longtime head of 20th Century Fox), Antonio Saura (producer and head of Latido distribution company), Manfred Schmidt (former head of the German MDM film fund), Simon Perry (former head of British Screen and the Irish Film Board), the president of ScripTeast; Dariusz Jabłoński, along with longtime heads of studies Christian Routh and Tom Abrams.

The programme of the 13th edition of ScripTeast began in October last year with weekly workshops and individual meetings with world-famous screenwriters, directors and producers, which were followed by individual online consultations. In February this year the screenwriters participated in sessions at the Berlinale festival.

Among the recipients of the Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast award are Benedek Fliegauf  (‘Womb’ –  Locarno Festival 2008), Marysia Nikitiuk (‘When the Trees Fall’, Berlinale 2018), Simeon Ventsislavov (‘Aga’, Berlinale 2018), and many others.

ScripTeast is organized by Polish Independent Film Foundation, co-funded by Creative Europe – MEDIA Sub-Programme of the EU, Polish Film Institute, The Ministry of Culture and National Heritage – Found for the Promotion of Culture, Apple Film Production, in co-operation with the European Film Academy, Producers Network, European Producers Club, Transatlantic Partners, ACE – Atelier du Cinema European and Film New Europe. 


Dorota Zawadzka

ScripTeast / Polish Independent Film Foundation
mob. +48 692 186 083; e-mail: