15th edition of ScripTeast – 12 projects

Twelve projects from Central and Eastern Europe will take part in the 15th, Jubilee edition of ScripTeast. For nearly a year authors will work on the improvement of their scripts under the tuition of internationally recognized professionals of the film industry. The edition will end with the announcement of the Krzysztof Kieślowski ScripTeast Award during the Cannes Film Festival 2021.

“We are honored and proud that ScripTeast enjoys ever-growing popularity and trust within the community of screenwriters. This year again the Independent Film Foundation, organizer of ScripTeast, has received a great number of applications from all across the region. Choosing the finalists was not an easy task. I hope that this nearly one-year-long journey will become again a very creative, intense, and sometimes emotional exchange between the authors of the scripts and the best international screenwriters, directors, and producers, who will take the role of creative advisors. I also hope that we will soon see the effects of this collaboration on the screens”, says Violetta Kamińska, the Managing Director of ScripTeast.

The first, October session, will be based mostly on the individual meetings of the authors of the projects with the famous filmmakers of diverse cultural backgrounds.

The second phase of the program, lasting until the end of December, when authors will have to present the final drafts, is a series of consultations online.

The next two sessions will take place at the film festivals in Berlin (February 2021) and in Cannes (May 2021), where authors will also have the opportunity to pitch their projects and to meet chosen representatives of the film industry and use this priceless opportunity to extend their international network. The program will end officially with the announcement of the winner of the Krzysztof Kieślowski ScripTeast Award for The Best Script of Central and Eastern Europe, which will take place during the Festival in Cannes.

Projects selected for the 15th edition of ScripTeast:

A SENSITIVE MAN – Tomas Klein, Kateřina Traburová – Czech Republic

AN ENEMY – Teresa Zofia Czepiec, Maciej Sobieszczański – Poland

GROUND ZERO – Zhanna Ozirna – Ukraine

INCIDENT – Tomasz Wolski, Katarzyna Tybinka – Poland

LEARN TO CRY – Denijal Hasanović – Bosnia & Herzegovina

MARIA’S SILENCE – Davis Simanis, Tabita Rudzate – Latvia

MS. KEBAB – Kamila Czul, Natalia Koryncka Gruz – Poland

THE BORDER – Eryk Lenartowicz, Yvette Underwood – Poland

THE CASE OF E.E. – Paweł Grajnert, Maja Costa, Sandra Buchta – Poland

THE ELEVATOR – Aleksandar Spasov, Miglena Dimova – Bulgaria

THE SACRIFICE – Ewa Podgórska, Sebastian Wasiński – Poland

TROPHY – Teodor Kuhn – Slovakia

ScripTeast is organized by the Independent Film Foundation, co-funded by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Sub-Programme of the EU, the Polish Film Institute, the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage – Fund for the Promotion of Culture, Apple Film Production, in co-operation with the European Film Academy, and internationally recognized associations of producers: European Producers Club, ACE, Transatlantic Partners, Filmarket Hub, and Film New Europe.

ScripTeast is one of the most effective programs of its kind – 43 films were already produced, and 11 further are currently in production.